



SAIL Regional Group

Annual Report to IAMSLIC • 2016

SAIL 2016 Conference

The annual SAIL Conference of IAMSLIC was held at The University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science – Chesapeake Biological Laboratory in Solomons, Maryland, May 10-13, 2016. The theme for the conference was "In the Transitional Zone: Waters, Libraries and Librarians." Kathleen Heil hosted the conference, Liz DeHart served as the Conference Planning Committee chair, and Anne Moser served as the Program Committee chair.

The conference was a mix of presentations by SAIL members, faculty members at Center for Environmental Science – Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, library vendors, and local NOAA librarians. There were several field trips including a tour of the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, a tour of the Calvert Marine Museum and Library, and a field trip to and tour of the NOAA Central Library in Silver Spring, MD. An end-of-conference banquet was held at a local Bed & Breakfast. Sponsors for the conference included ProQuest, Lyrasis, EBSCO, Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council, and Maryland Country Caterers.

SAIL hosted its second year of the successful "State of the Union – SAIL Libraries Edition," started by SAIL Rep Jaime Goldman at the 2015 conference, where each attendee received 3-5 minutes to get up and share with the group updates from their work and library. Some attendees prepared presentations while others talked to the group about new projects and initiatives. This session allows the attendees to hear updates from other SAIL libraries, fosters collaborations between libraries, and allows those who may not be presenting a chance to speak to the group.

For the 2016 conference program, abstracts, group photo, and information, please visit the conference page at: http://www.iamslic.org/sail/sail-2016-in-the-transitional-zone-waters-libraries-and-librarians.

Draft minutes from the SAIL Business Meeting are included at the end of this report, and will be approved at the 2017 SAIL Conference.

Non-attending members were updated on conference activities via the SAIL listserv and the SAIL Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/SAILregionalgroup.

The 2016 SAIL Conference will be hosted by Anne Moser and held at UW-Madison, Wisconsin Water Library May 16-19, 2017.

MEMBERSHIP STATUS

As of May 2, 2016 SAIL has 58 members listed in the IAMSLIC Directory. As of the 2016 membership census taken in April of 2016, SAIL had 54 members, for which they received a total 2016 allocation of \$1,512.00 (\$28/SAIL member).

SAIL ACTIVITIES

2016 IAMSLIC Conference:

Members attending and/or presenting at 42nd IAMSLIC Annual Conference, 16-20 October,
2016 in Mérida, México: David Baca, Dorothy Barr, Angela Clark-Hughes, Jaime Goldman, Linda Pikula, Lisa Raymond, Jennifer Walton.

SAIL Communication and Website:

- SAIL Website http://www.iamslic.org/sail/
 - Webmaster: Kelsey Williamson
- SAIL Listserv: SAIL@LISTSERV.UGA.EDU
 - Listserv manager: Duncan McCusky
- SAIL Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/SAILregionalgroup
 - Managed by: Jaime Goldman

2017 SAIL Conference:

• The 2016 SAIL Conference will be hosted by Anne Moser and held at UW-Madison, Wisconsin Water Library May 16-19, 2017.

SAIL Members on the IAMSLIC EXECUTIVE BOARD

- Jaime Goldman, SAIL Representative (2015-2017)
- David Baca, IAMSLIC President-Elect (2017-2018)

SAIL Members on IAMSLIC COMMITTEES

- Archivists & Editor
 - Lisa Raymond, Archivist
 - Dorothy Barr, Proceedings Editor
- Aquatic Commons Board
 - Linda Pikula (2015-2017)
 - David Baca (2015-2016)
- Bylaws
 - Angela Clark-Hughes, Chair (2015-2017, 2nd term)
 - Liz DeHart (2015-2017)
 - Jennifer Walton (2015-2017)
- Conference Site Selection
 - Keri Baker: Chair (2016-2017); Member-at-Large (2016-2018)
 - Kristen Metzger (2016-2018, 2nd term)
- Joint IODE-IAMSLIC GEMIM
 - Linda Pikula, Leader
 - Michelle Leonard (2015-2019)
- Membership Committee
 - Liz DeHart (2015-2017)
- Nominating Committee
 - Michelle Leonard (2016-2018, 2nd term)
- RegOnline Committee
 - Alyson Gamble (ended June 2016)
- Treasury Task Force
 - Dave Baca, Chair
- Website & Communications Committee
 - Anne Moser, Chair (2015-2017)
 - David Baca, Website Content Coordinator (2015-2016)
 - Dorothy Barr, Conference Proceedings Editor & WHOAS Liaison (ongoing)