Host Country and Institution

About New Caledonia

New Caledonia is a French territory in the South Pacific and is approximately 1,950 kilometers from Sydney, Australia and 17,000 kilometers from Paris, France.”There’s no better place to experience the Pacific with a taste of France than New Caledonia, where Melanesian tradition blends with French sophistication. This mix of the chic yet casual, très French but ultimately Pacific comes together with peerless élan in Noumea, the cosmopolitan capital. Dining out and shopping run the gamut from gourmet restaurants to humble roulottes, from Chinatown’s colourful shops to the expensively elegant, air-conditioned boutiques on rue de Sébastopol. When you leave the capital, the urban scenery gives way to a wealth of changing landscapes – the rolling plains of la brousse (the bush), lush river valleys, steep mountains coursed by tumbling waterfalls, cool rainforests and wild coastlines”

Taken from:

logo noumeaAbout Noumea:

Noumea is over a 150 years old and sits on a large peninsular, surrounded by beautiful bays and blessed with many welcoming islands around its shores and is situated at the Southern tip of New Caledonia. It is the country’s administrative, political and economic center and reflects a multicultural society.  French is the official language of the country, however many people speak English too. From classy French restaurants to humble establishments in town, diners have many choices to choose from. Public transportation in Noumea is by buses and taxi’s.

Read more at:

logo spcAbout the Secretariat of the Pacific Community 

Noumea is home to the headquarters of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC). SPC is an international organization with a membership of 22 Pacific Island countries: American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis and Futuna, and four of the original founding countries; Australia, France, New Zealand and the United States of America.  

SPC is grouped under 7 technical divisions; Economic Development, Fisheries, Aquaculture and Marine Ecosystems, Land Resources, Public Health, Education, Training and Human Development and Applied Geoscience and Technology. SPC also works in the areas of Climate Change and Statistics for Development. SPC works in these areas througout its member countries,  providing technical expertise and assistance and helps countries and Territories achieve sustainable development.

SPC is conveniently located opposite the beautiful Bay of Anse Vata with a lovely stretch of beach, only 10 minutes from the Noumea city centre by car.  Buses run every 20 – 30 minutes and stop very close to SPC’s main entrance.  Taxi services are also available.

SPC has three  libraries, two in Fiji and the main one in Noumea. Each library caters for  the needs of the specific programs where they are physically located. The current collection of over 80,000 records has regional and international publications in French, English and some Pacific languages. The Library  dates back to the creation of SPC. Its holdings reflect the work of the organisation. The historic SPC collection contains photographs, films, speeches, ephemera and holds copies of most of the publications of SPC.

Read more at:

From Ili's Ipad 044From Ili's Ipad 028

Images of Anse Vata Beach. Pictures courtesy of Iliano Ravula